APIs & Integrations

jravelo

API Call Limit Hit

SOLVE

Good morning,

First off - I just want to say that I am not a developer and have minimal developer knowledge. I'm trying to figure out why we are hitting the API call limit in HubSpot. Is there a way to see what integration is maxing out the call limit?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Best,
Jake

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
IsaacTakushi
Solution
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

API Call Limit Hit

SOLVE

Hey, @jakeravelo.

We found that the majority of errors over the past week were 409s from the contact creation endpoint. (At least 30K each day, up to 36K on Saturday.)

It seems your system is attempting to pass an existing email values to the Create a new contact endpoint. Unlike the Create or update a contact endpoint, the /contacts/v1/contact endpoint will only attempt to create new contacts, so passing existing email addresses will cause failures.

The team also identified extraneous lookups. For example, these two calls occurred right after each other:

474    12/3/2018, 11:57:23 AM    204    POST    /contacts/v1/contact/vid/201776251/profile
476    12/3/2018, 11:57:23 AM    200    GET    /contacts/v1/contact/email/scsc.[lastname]@yahoo.com/profile

scsc.[lastname]@yahoo.com is vid 201776251, so you could save half of these types of calls by attempting to update with the Create or update a contact endpoint or, better yet, the batch create or update endpoint.

To reiterate, these calls are using your account's API key and are not caused by any of these integrations.

Isaac Takushi

Associate Certification Manager

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
8 Replies 8
IsaacTakushi
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

API Call Limit Hit

SOLVE

Welcome, @RobertWorkshop!

Could you describe your situation a bit more thoroughly?

According to this endpoint, account 4622020 has only used 9,929 out of 40,000 today, 4 December 2018, so I'm not sure which limit you're hitting.

Isaac Takushi

0 Upvotes