APIs & Integrations

jerome_kwek

Create a new Contact flow

Hi guys,

I’m very very very new to HubSpot’s API, and have a quick question on the process for creating a new contact. I believe that each Contact is tied to a vid when they have converted via a Landing Page form or CTA. However, I have already developed the site prior to getting on-board with HubSpot, and as such, would need to use the API to create a new contact through my frontend.

I have seen the documentation (http://developers.hubspot.com/docs/methods/contacts/create_contact) but am wondering if I need to create any cookies manually from the response JSON to set the vid for this particular user when they have converted through my site’s form.

Many thanks in advance!

0 Upvotes
6 Replies 6
jerome_kwek

@dadams Got what you mean, and have been using the Smart Lists by filtering Contacts that have filled up that particular form. Awesome - Thank you so much for your help all these time! :slight_smile:

0 Upvotes
jerome_kwek

Hi @dadams!

Thanks for your wonderful explanation! I guess with it accompanied by the API docs, I have successfully managed to add a Contact into my portal via the Forms API.

However, riding on this thread, I would like to find out what is the time taken for a vid to be generated for the user. What I want to achieve is for a Contact to be added, as well as add them to as List. Assuming that I have created these 3 functions, as well as always having the User’s email address:

hs_submit_form()
hs_get_contact_vid_by_email()
hs_add_contact_to_list()

I’d run hs_submit_form() to add the Contact, then try to get the vid of the User with their email using hs_get_contact_vid_by_email(), but I noticed that I got an empty response. Which causes hs_add_contact_to_list() to not do anything (returning {‘discarded’: [], ‘updated’: [], “invalidVids”:[], “invalidEmails”:[] } response).

0 Upvotes
Dadams
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee