Form customization

forms

Hi

I am new to Hubspot. We have a custom made tool for creating quotes that includes a lot of configuration. Thus we need to add custom button/link to some of the forms (contact) in hubspot so that we can get user and contact information created as part of the quote. Then the external tool can be tailored to generate quote information in hubspot.

Is there a way to do this in hubspot? (adding buttons/link to hubspot forms, or other form of integrating external tools)

@Jardar_Maatje what type of information are you trying to place in the form?

Hi. Basically we need a button/link that includes data from the contact and user. Preferably this could be the ID of the user and the ID of the contact, then we could request the rest of the information through the Hubspot API I would guess. Below is how I would think the flow will go (something similar has been implemented in superoffice before):

Flow:

1. Click custom button in HB (hubspot)
    HB -> (user_id, contact_id) -> QC ( Quote Configurer)
  2. QC retreives more details from HB throug API
    HB -> (contact detail, contact_id ) -> ( Quote Configurer )
  3. Configuration is finished and QC writes quote details back to HB
    QC -> (Quote details) -> HB

@Jardar_Maatje Instead of a button you could always just have a hidden field that would be pre-populated. That being said you won’t be able to grab the contact id from the forms tool. You will have to do that via the hubspot API. You could grab the utk on form submission and pass that to the same script in your part 2.

Not sure if I follow. A hidden field would not solve anything. Basically what we need is a button/link inside Hubspot (on the contact page) that launches the other web application and a way to identify the user and the contact from which it was launched.
So as you understand this is independently of the default save/submitt button on the contact form.