Populating a firm field with jquery

I was using a script i frankensteined from somewhere. I’m a JS newbie. It was working until a couple of weeks ago.
It is supposed to populate the form field “product name” with the text content of an H2 tag with class “.djc_title” elsewhere on the same page. Is my syntax ok?

<!-- [if lte IE 8]>
<script charset="utf-8" src="//js.hsforms.net/forms/v2-legacy.js"> </script>
<![endif]-->
<script charset="utf-8" src="//js.hsforms.net/forms/v2.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">// <![CDATA[
hbspt.forms.create({ 
    portalId: 'xxxx',
    formId: 'xxxxx',
    onFormReady: function() {   $('input[name="productname"]').val($('h2.djc_title').text().trim($(this))).change(); } 
    });
// ]]></script>

@Archeantus Does it work? Do you get an error?

It doesn’t work. No errors in JS Console.
Also, because another framework the site uses has taken $, I have to replace all of my “$” with “jQuery”. This I had done and it was working until a couple of weeks ago.
Perhaps there is a more correct way to achieve what i am trying to do?

@Archeantus I would try and start from scratch and build out the query again. Also if you had to replace $ with JQuery then why do you have the ‘$’ in your sample code?

Does $(‘input[name=“product”]’).val() return anything? If your site is up you can just use the dev tools and get to the console to see the return of it. Should be a quick way of testing.

In the past, when I have included “jQuery” in my sample code on other forums everyone informs me that I should replace it with “$”. I thought was getting ahead of that this time by just altering the sample code.

Anywho, I am a JS newbie. I have never used the dev tools to debug JS. SO here goes an insanely dumb question: What do you mean by “Does “x” return anything?” Do I plug that in somewhere in dev tools?

@Archeantus so if you hit f12 you should get a screen similar to this: (you can right click and hit inspect as well)