APIs & Integrations

viswa46

Timeline api integration

SOLVE

I am very new to hubspot. What is the process of timeline API? I want to track the user login, last login time, transaction initiate time, completed time, cancel time etc.. Anyone suggest the correct API integration from hubspot to track. Is the timeline API works for my requirement?

0 Upvotes
1 Accepted solution
IsaacTakushi
Solution
HubSpot Employee
HubSpot Employee

Timeline api integration

SOLVE

Welcome, @viswa46.

The Timeline API sounds like the best match for your use case. You can populate different events on contact, company, or deal record timelines, set custom properties, including timestamps, and segment on these properties in HubSpot active lists and workflows.

I think you may wish to create different timeline event types for the different interactions/events you are tracking. For example, one event type could be used to record log ins while another type would record log outs.

Please keep in mind that the Timeline API only allows you to write information to a contact, company, or deal record. You will actually need to track the log ins/outs with your own system and then call HubSpot when an action occurs that you want recorded.

Could you clarify what you mean by "transaction initiate time, completed time, cancel time"? It almost sounds like you are describing deals, which are separate objects from contacts. They are best used to reflect "transactions" which may have a monetary value associated with them. Let me know if you would like additional insight here.

Isaac Takushi

Associate Certification Manager

View solution in original post

0 Upvotes
20 Replies 20
cbarley
HubSpot Alumni
HubSpot Alumni

Timeline api integration

SOLVE

Hi @viswa46, you'd have to do this calculation externally. Using the GET timeline event endpoint is likely your best bet, so that you can then get the timestamp for that event and calculate the difference.

0 Upvotes
viswa46

Timeline api integration

SOLVE