APIs & Integrations

carltonsmith

What is the Best Way to Record Product Purchases?

I am a long time web developer, but new to the HubSpot API, so forgive me if I sound a bit clueless.

Our organization sells thousands of products, training courses, event registrations, webinars and other things. We would like to send purchases of these things to HubSpot so we can create lists on the fly for our users who have purchased one of these things or a combination of these things, but I am unsure of the best way to do this in HubSpot.

My guess is that the best way to do this is to use the API to send the purchase information, including the product type, product ID and product name to HubSpot once the purchase is confirmed, but I am unsure what elements of the API should be used to best accomplish our goals.

Obviously we want to avoid anything that requires us to manually enter products into HubSpot, since we have so many products and the product list is constantly changing.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

0 Upvotes
9 Replies 9
Derek_Gervais
HubSpot Alumni
HubSpot Alumni

HI @carltonsmith,

You should be able to create event types from your app settings. Click into your app, select Timeline API events, and then click the ‘Create event type’ button.

0 Upvotes
carltonsmith

This selection exists in my developer app, but not in our main app. I need to know how to make it in the main app.

0 Upvotes
Derek_Gervais
HubSpot Alumni
HubSpot Alumni

Hi @carltonsmith,

When installing your app, you’ll need a user from the portal in question to authenticate the app using OAuth (see below). This only needs to happen when the app is initially installed; after that, you’ll be able to use the access and refresh tokens to authenticate your requests (i.e. adding events).

Initiate an Integration with Oauth 2.0

https://app.hubspot.com/oauth/authorize - Initiate authentication for an app using OAuth 2.0

0 Upvotes
carltonsmith